President - Mary Jane Haemig

Professor Emeritus of Church History
Luther Seminary
St. Paul, MN


Vice President - Joel Pless

Professor of Theology
Wisconsin Lutheran College
Milwaukee, WI

Thoreson, Joel 2016_72dpi.jpg

Secretary - Joel Thoreson

Archivist for Management, Reference, and Technology Archives of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


Treasurer - Martin Lohrmann

Assistant Professor of Lutheran Confessions & Heritage
Warburg Theological Seminary
Dubuque, IA

Board Members

Maria Erling -Lutheran Theological Seminary, Gettysburg, Gettysburg, PA
Timothy Grundmeier -Martin Luther College, New Ulm, MN
Mary Jane Haemig -Luther Seminary, St. Paul, MN
Susan McArver -Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary, Columbia, SC     
Elisabeth Unruh -Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL


American Academy of Religion - (Vacant)
American Society of Church History - Mark E. Braun
American Theological Library Association - (Vacant)
Augustana Heritage Association - Maria E. Erling
Concordia Historical Institute - Marvin A. Huggins
Lutheran Historical Society of Eastern Pennsylvania - John E. Peterson
Lutheran Historical Society of the Mid-Atlantic - Carolyn Hoover Sung
Society of American Archivists and International Council on Archives -(Vacant)
Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod Historical Society - Mark E. Braun


Commissioners have the primary responsibility for areas listed below. Persons who wish to become involved with the work of the conference in these areas or who have questions are encouraged to contact the appropriate commissioner through the contact button below.

Membership Secretary - Marvin A. Huggins
Newsletter Editor - Joel Thoreson
Webmaster - Kristofer Coffman
Editor, The Journal of the Lutheran Historical Conference - Mark A. Granquist
Research & Publication - (Vacant)
Annual Bibliography - James W. Albers, Robert Smith
Historian & Faculty Recruitment - Donald L. Huber